• 1937

    Henry George School of Economics founded in London by Leon MacLaren. It was renamed the School of Economic Science in 1942.

  • 1954

    First series of Philosophy courses offered, developed from the teachings of Ouspensky and Gurdjieff.

  • 1957

    First overseas school established in Wellington, NZ. Since then associated schools have opened in North America, Argentina, Australia, Belgium, Canada, Cyprus, Germany, Holland, Hungary, Ireland, Israel, Malta, S Africa, Spain, Trinidad and Venezuela.

  • 1959

    Maharishi Mahesh Yogi visits the UK, bringing the next stage of development, Meditation.

  • 1965

    First of many meetings of Leon MacLaren and Shri Shantananda Saraswati.

  • c1967

    Philosophy courses first offered in the North West, in Preston.

  • 1994

    Mr MacLaren passes away. Mr Donald Lambie succeeds him as Senior Tutor.

  • 1997

    Shri Shantananda passes away. First meeting with Shri Vasudevananda Saraswati.

  • 2019

    The name of the school is changed to the School of Philosophy and Economic Science.